2019 & 2020 Student Paper Award Competition

About the award:

> Graduate students who have completed empirical or theoretical papers in the experimental analysis of human behavior are invited to submit their papers to the EAHB-SIG student paper competition. This competition specifically seeks to reward EAHB scholarship on human operant research topics. All papers submitted are sent to reviewers with expertise in the topic area of the student paper (many of the reviewers serve on the editorial boards of top behavioral journals). All student authors receive their reviews (regardless of award status). As such, this is an excellent opportunity for talented students to receive early peer-review experience.

2019 SPC Award Winner and Abstract

- Vanessa Ayres-Pereira, Oslo Metropolitan University, "Different Response Patterns during Baseline Acquisition in Many-to-One and One-to-Many Training Structures and Performance in Tests for Equivalence Class Formation." (Academic Sponsor: Dr. Erik Arntzen)
- The present experiment compared the outcomes of the One-to-Many (OTM) and Many-to-One (MTO) training structures on the emergence of three 9-member equivalence classes. Forty-two college students participated; half of them were exposed to the MTO and the other half to the OTM training structure. First, participants trained 24 baseline relations concurrently (the OTM group trained AB, AC, AD, AE, AF, AG, AH, and AI, and the MTO group trained BA, CA, DA, EA, FA, GA, HA, and IA). Next, they were exposed to one test block that assessed the emergence of 192 derived relations and the baseline maintenance in random order. After mastering the baseline, 86% of the participants in the MTO group passed in the test and 48% did so in the OTM group. In the MTO group, the baseline acquisition process was characterized by a uniform distribution of responses per comparison stimulus, and failure in the test was predicted by the requirement of greater amounts of trials to learn the baseline. In the OTM group, the baseline acquisition process was characterized by an uneven distribution of responses per comparison, and failure was predicted by non-programmed discrepancies in the number of reinforcements per nodal stimulus.

2020 SPC Award Winner and Abstract

Student Paper Competition Award temporarily postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The EAHB SIG extends its warm thanks to all reviewers for the Student Paper Competition

2019 & 2020 EAHB Distinguished Contributions Award

About the award:

- Each year, SIG members vote on nominees for our Distinguished Contributions Award. This award is given to an individual who has made substantial, long-term contributions to the Experimental Analysis of Human Behavior and is presented each year at the ABAI annual convention.
- Past awardees include: Alan Baron, Murray Sidman, Joe Brady, Joe Spradlin, Charlie Catania, David Schmitt, Grayson Osborne, Travis Thompson, Jack Michael, Howie Rachlin, Nate Azrin, Harry Mackay, Deisy de Souza, Carol Pilgrim, Phil Hineline, and Mike Perone.

2019 DC Award Winner and Abstract

Distinguished Contribution Award temporarily postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

2020 DC Award Winner and Abstract

Distinguished Contribution Award temporarily postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic.